The National Premier Leagues


The National Premier Leagues (NPL)!

The NPL currently includes nine leagues across the country: the Florida Premier League, Gulf States Premier League, Midwest Developmental League, NorCal Premier League, Northeast Pre-Academy League, Northern Illinois Soccer League, Oregon Premier League, Southeast Pre-Academy League and Texas Pre-Academy League.
The NPL offers a platform for long-term player development by providing consistent and meaningful games between the region’s top players and also provides opportunities for players to be scouted by U.S. Soccer national staff. Winners of each league within the NPL will qualify for US Club Soccer’s National Premier Leagues Champions Cup, to be held July 27-30, 2012, in Waukegan, Ill.
The NPL is an important component of US Club Soccer’s 10-year vision to refine the landscape for competitive youth soccer. The vision recognizes that:
  • Properly-structured youth soccer clubs are the vehicle through which player development does and must occur in the United States.
  • Clubs should play in leagues that provide meaningful games, allow establishment of the proper training-to-game ratio, and eliminate calendar congestion.
  • National Premier Leagues, as well as the best clubs, should be integrated in US Club Soccer’s id2 national identification and development program, include Player Development Programs in select local markets, and work closely with U.S. Soccer staff regarding player identification, and player and coach development.